Action1, Automox, NinjaOne, ManageEngine Patch Manager Plus, Tanium, HCL BigFix and Qualys Patch Management compared side by side — the patching features each one has, the company size each tends to fit, and a neutral RFP question bank. We show features and size fit only; we do not rank the tools. Confirm anything that matters directly with the vendor.
Research date: September 6, 2026
Confirm before you rely on it: patch-management features, supported operating systems and applications, distribution options, integrations, hosting regions, certifications, and pricing all change often. Every capability below is drawn from the vendor's own current pages (linked under each tool), but the authoritative and most current source is always the vendor. Go directly to the vendor to confirm anything that will drive a purchasing or deployment decision.
Filter tools
7 of 7 tools match the selected filters.
Feature comparison
Company-size fit is an EVULNABLE Assessment (our opinion on the sizes each tool tends to fit); every other column is drawn from the vendor's own pages. This table lists what each tool does — it does not rank the tools.
Patch management tools matching the current filters
Cloud-native patch management (SaaS, no on-prem infrastructure)
SaaS (cloud-native), Government cloud (FedRAMP)
Windows, macOS, Linux
Peer-to-peer (Windows)
Mid-market, Enterprise, Global enterprise, Government
Scroll sideways for more columns →
Pricing snapshot
Published figures only. Where a vendor does not publish a price, this says so rather than estimating — confirm current pricing with the vendor.
Pricing basis and published figure per tool
Tool
Pricing basis
Published figure
Action1
Published Price (free tier) + quote-based above 200 endpoints
Published Price: Free for the first 200 endpoints ('Free forever,' no feature limits, no expiry). Above 200 endpoints, pricing is quote-based - Action1 does not publish a paid per-endpoint figure.
Automox
Published Price (Patch OS tier) + custom-quoted higher tiers
Published Price: Patch OS is $1 per endpoint/month with an annual commitment (Windows, macOS, and Linux OS patching). Automate Essentials and Automate Enterprise are custom-priced. Monthly (no-commitment) billing is available; annual saves 25%.
NinjaOne (Patch Management)
Published Price (indicative range) + quote-based full pricing
Published Price: NinjaOne does not publish a full price list, but states an indicative per-device range of roughly $1.50/month at 10,000 endpoints up to $3.75/month at 50 or fewer endpoints (tiered, with volume discounts); a 14-day trial and quotes are offered.
ManageEngine Patch Manager Plus
Published Price (full price list) + Free edition
Published Price: Professional and Enterprise editions are published per-computer and per-server (on-prem annual/perpetual and cloud monthly/annual). Illustrative on-prem annual entry points: Professional per-computer from $245, Enterprise per-computer from $345 (rising with volume). Cloud is subscription-only.
Tanium Patch
Quote / demo-based (no public price)
No public price. Tanium does not publish a per-endpoint price; the site directs prospects to request a demo or contact sales.
HCL BigFix (Patch)
Quote-based (no public price)
No public price. HCL BigFix pricing is quote-based (typically per client device, tiered); official pages direct prospects to contact HCL for a quote.
Qualys Patch Management
Quote-based (no current public price)
No current public price. Qualys Patch Management is quote-based and does not display a current per-asset figure; the only official figure found is historical ($29.95 per asset at the 2019 launch).
Scroll sideways for more columns →
Before you rely on this
Important disclaimer
Patch-Management Tool Disclaimer: EVULNABLE provides independent informational comparisons of patch-management tools. Product capabilities, supported operating systems and third-party applications, automation and distribution features, integrations, deployment models, pricing, data residency, and security authorizations can change. Information labeled Official/Verified is based on the vendor's official documentation available as of the listed research date. Information labeled Published Price is a price the vendor currently displays and may not reflect discounts, minimum commitments, add-on modules, taxes, or professional services. Company-size fit is labeled EVULNABLE Assessment because it is this tab's own independent opinion, not a vendor claim or endorsement, and it is the only comparative opinion offered: this page does not rank the tools or state that any tool is better than another. Organizations should validate current capabilities, licensing, regional availability, and technical coverage directly with the vendor before purchase.
Independent Comparison Notice: EVULNABLE is an independent informational resource and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, endorsed by, or acting on behalf of the vendors listed on this page unless explicitly stated otherwise. Vendor names and trademarks are used solely to identify the products and services being discussed.
How to read this page
How to read this page: for each tool, this page lists the patch-management features documented on the vendor's own pages, notes where a tool also does more (for example, broader operating-system coverage or peer/relay content distribution) as an additional fact, and gives an independent opinion on the company size the tool tends to fit. It does not rank the tools, score them, or recommend one over another. The company-size fit is the only opinion offered and is labeled EVULNABLE Assessment. Where the vendor's pages do not itemize a capability, the page says so rather than guessing. Treat every figure as provisional and confirm it with the vendor.
How this was checked before publishing
Every capability statement on this page was checked against the vendor's own official product pages and documentation on the research date; the sources are linked under each tool's profile. A few points worth flagging for readers: Automox publishes two different third-party title counts on its own site (580+ on the patching pages, 630+ on the pricing page) - both are shown with their source. Action1 and NinjaOne do not publish a specific third-party application count, so none is invented here. NinjaOne and Action1 publish only indicative or free-tier pricing (full pricing is quote-based); Tanium and HCL BigFix do not publish per-endpoint pricing at all. HCL BigFix's own pages give two single-server scale figures (250,000 in the platform docs, 300,000 on the Remediate product page) - both are shown. Because vendor pages change quickly, treat every figure here as provisional and confirm it directly with the vendor.
Market pricing context
Patch-management tools price on very different bases, which makes a direct
head-to-head price comparison difficult: per-endpoint/month, per-computer and
per-server tiers, free tiers, and pure quote-based enterprise deals all appear
below. Figures labeled **Published Price** are numbers a vendor currently
displays publicly; where a vendor does not publish a figure, this page says so
rather than estimating one.
- **Action1** is free for the first 200 endpoints ("Free forever, no feature
limits"); above 200 endpoints, pricing is quote-based.
- **Automox** publishes **$1 per endpoint/month** (annual commitment) for its
Patch OS tier; the Automate Essentials and Automate Enterprise tiers are
custom-quoted.
- **NinjaOne** is quote-based and does not publish a full price list, but
states an indicative per-device range of roughly **$1.50 to $3.75 per
month** depending on volume.
- **ManageEngine Patch Manager Plus** publishes a full price list for its
Professional and Enterprise editions (per-computer and per-server, on-prem
and cloud), and has a Free edition for up to 20 workstations and 5 servers.
- **Tanium** and **HCL BigFix** do not publish per-endpoint pricing; both are
quote/demo-based enterprise deals.
- **Qualys Patch Management** is a licensed module alongside VMDR and is
quote-based; the only official figure is historical (**$29.95 per asset** at
the 2019 launch), and no current per-asset price is displayed.
Confirm current pricing directly with each vendor - published figures change
often and rarely reflect discounts, add-on modules, or minimum commitments.
Category definitions
Cloud-native patch management
Delivered purely as a SaaS service with a lightweight endpoint agent and no on-premises servers, relays, or appliances to run. Endpoints check in over the internet, so remote and off-network machines are patched without a VPN. Action1 and Automox are built this way.
Unified endpoint management / RMM with patching
Patch management is one module inside a broader cloud endpoint-management / remote-monitoring-and-management platform that also does things like remote access, software deployment, and monitoring (NinjaOne). Useful where one team wants patching alongside general endpoint management in a single console.
Dedicated patch product within an IT-management suite
A purpose-built patch-management product, offered in both on-premises and cloud editions, that is part of a larger family of IT-management tools (ManageEngine Patch Manager Plus). Distribution servers can be placed at branch offices to save bandwidth.
Enterprise endpoint platform with peer/relay distribution
A converged endpoint-management platform whose single agent covers many capabilities and whose distribution architecture (Tanium's linear-chain peer-to-peer, BigFix's relays) is designed to move patch content across very large, distributed estates with limited bandwidth. Tanium and HCL BigFix are built this way.
Request a correction — See outdated information? Patch-management features, supported applications, certifications, and pricing change frequently. If you represent a vendor or notice information that may be outdated, use the link below to request a review or correction.
Export comparison
Pick the tools to include, then download a self-contained PDF or Excel comparison. Each carries its own methodology note, a Sources & Verification section with links, and the disclaimer, so the file stands on its own for procurement, management or a shortlist review.
Tool profile
The full text for each tool is in the profile below, which the table's tool names link to. One profile at a time. Every profile is its own URL, so a link to one is a link you can send.
Automox
Cloud-native patch management (SaaS, no on-prem infrastructure)
Patch what's patchable, mitigate what's not - automating OS and third-party patching, configuration, and custom endpoint automation from one cloud platform.
SaaS (cloud-native)Deployment
No / cloud-onlyOn-prem option
Not statedDistribution
YesPublished price
Classification
Official/Verified: A cloud-native SaaS, agent-based, cross-platform (Windows/macOS/Linux) endpoint patch- and configuration-management platform with no on-premises servers.
Operating systems patched
Official/Verified: Windows (11 and 10, incl. ARM64; Server 2025 through 2012 R2), macOS (Tahoe/Sequoia/Sonoma on Intel and Apple Silicon), and a broad Linux range (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS Stream, Rocky, Alma, Oracle Linux, Amazon Linux, Debian, Ubuntu, SLES, and others).
Third-party application patching
Official/Verified: Yes. Automox's patching pages cite 'over 580 third-party software titles' (e.g., Adobe, Firefox, Chrome), while its pricing page lists '630+ third-party patching titles' - both are the vendor's own figures.
Patch discovery / vulnerability visibility
Official/Verified: Inventories hardware, software, outstanding patches, and configuration, flagging non-compliant devices as 'Needs Attention.' Vulnerability Sync ingests third-party scanner findings (named: CrowdStrike, Tenable, Qualys; plus any scanner that exports a compatible CSV) and drives remediation, feeding status back into the findings view.
Automation & scheduling
Official/Verified: Policy types include Patch All, Patch Only, Patch All Except, Manual Approval, By Severity, and Advanced Policy; every policy sets a schedule. Worklets (custom automation scripts) can perform any scriptable action, including mass rollback of patches. The pricing page cites 432+ prebuilt Worklet scripts and a FixNow immediate-execution capability in the Enterprise tier.
Testing / staging
Official/Verified: Staged/test-group deployment is achieved through device Groups plus the Manual Approval policy type. Automox does not use named 'ring/pilot' terminology on its official pages.
Reboot management
Official/Verified: Restart notifications with end-user deferral (defaults of 1/4/8 hours and up to 6 deferrals), configurable notification duration (15 minutes-8 hours), and automatic deferral if a notification is ignored; after deferrals are exhausted the device restarts within 15 minutes. Supported on Windows and macOS.
Rollback / uninstall
Official/Verified: Patch rollback is supported on Windows only (Windows 7 / Server 2008 R2 or newer) via a console 'Roll Back' bulk action and a verified Rollback Worklet; not all patches can be rolled back (must be marked uninstallable by Microsoft). App uninstall is available via Worklets. Automox notes rollback is 'an inherently risky process.'
Content distribution
No peer-to-peer, relay, or WAN/bandwidth-optimization feature is stated on Automox's official pages. OS patches are pulled directly from native OS update services; third-party patches are cached by Automox and malware-scanned before deployment.
Reporting & compliance
Official/Verified: A unified cloud console gives centralized inventory and patch-status visibility and a 'Needs Attention' compliance state. Detailed report/dashboard specifics beyond this are not itemized on the pages reviewed.
ITSM / ticketing integration
Official/Verified: ServiceNow Service Graph Connector imports Automox device data into the ServiceNow CMDB (device name, serial, OS version, IP, CPU, MAC, and more). A first-party Jira integration is not confirmed on the official docs.
Remote control / remote access
Official/Verified: Yes - Remote Control in the Splashtop-powered Remote Tools suite (Remote Control, Remote Command, File Transfer, System Tools), surfaced inside the Automox console.
Agent model
Official/Verified: A lightweight agent installed on managed devices (approx. 100-150 MB memory, ~100-290 MB disk depending on OS); Windows requires .NET 3.51+ and PowerShell 5.1+. No on-prem infrastructure is required - the platform is cloud-only.
Scale
Official/Verified: No hard endpoint limit is published; Automox states it suits organizations managing 'ten devices or ten thousand,' running on a clustered AWS architecture that scales on demand. Specific maximum-endpoint or benchmark figures are not stated.
Data residency / certifications
Official/Verified: Hosted on AWS using Regions and Availability Zones; specific named hosting regions are not stated on the pages reviewed. Attestations named on official pages include SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR, PCI DSS v4, GDPR, EU-US Data Privacy Framework, and TX-RAMP; Automox is a CISA Secure by Design signatory. FedRAMP and ISO 27001 are not stated.
Pricing
Published Price: Patch OS is $1 per endpoint/month with an annual commitment (Windows, macOS, and Linux OS patching). Automate Essentials and Automate Enterprise are custom-priced. Monthly (no-commitment) billing is available; annual saves 25%.The $1/endpoint/month figure is the Patch OS tier; third-party patching at scale and advanced automation sit in the custom-quoted tiers.
Company-size fit
EVULNABLE Assessment: Automox's transparent $1/endpoint Patch OS tier, cloud-only model, and cross-OS coverage fit SMB and mid-market IT teams well, and the platform is used at enterprise scale - so it spans SMB through enterprise. As with any cloud-only tool, check it against any on-prem or air-gapped requirement.
How the vendor positions it
Automox positions the product for 'IT and security teams' managing endpoints 'anywhere with an internet connection,' explicitly spanning organizations 'managing ten devices or ten thousand,' including MSPs.
Last verified: September 6, 2026. Confirm current details directly with the vendor.
Capability matrix
Every cell is a factual descriptor from the vendor's own pages — "Yes", the named feature, or "Not stated" where the vendor does not itemize it. Read down a row to see what each tool supports for that capability; the matrix does not score or rank the tools.
Capability comparison across the tools matching the current filters
Capability
Action1
Automox
NinjaOne (Patch Management)
ManageEngine Patch Manager Plus
Tanium Patch
HCL BigFix (Patch)
Qualys Patch Management
Windows patching
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
macOS patching
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Linux patching
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Unix (AIX / Solaris) patching
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Yes
Not stated
Third-party app patching
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Via Tanium Deploy
Yes
Yes
Third-party catalog size (stated)
Not stated
580+ / 630+
Not stated
1,100+
Not stated
Not stated
300+
Automated deployment policies
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes (Zero-Touch)
Phased / staged rollout
Update Rings
Groups + manual approval
Ring deployments
Test-and-approve groups
Rules + maintenance windows
Policy groups + staggered
Deployment rings
Test / pilot staging
Yes (Ring 0)
Groups + manual approval
Yes (pilot ring)
Yes (test & approve)
Not stated (named)
Policy groups
Yes (deployment rings)
Reboot management
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Status tracked
Yes
Yes
Patch rollback / uninstall
Software uninstall (Win)
Windows rollback
Windows patch uninstall
Patch rollback
Not stated
Windows KB rollback wizard
Windows rollback; EOL uninstall
Vulnerability / CVE visibility
Yes (CVE/CVSS/KEV)
Vulnerability Sync (scanner import)
CVE dashboard
Real-time + scanner integrations
Via Tanium Comply
Fixlets + CyberFOCUS
Yes (VMDR / TruRisk)
Peer / relay distribution
Peer-to-peer
Not stated
Not stated
Distribution Server
Linear-chain P2P
Relays + throttling
Peer-to-peer (Windows)
Remote control / remote access
Yes (built-in)
Yes (Splashtop)
Yes (native + integrations)
Add-on
Via ScreenMeet
Yes (separate module)
Not documented
On-prem / self-managed option
No (cloud-only)
No (cloud-only)
No (cloud-only)
Yes
Yes
Yes
No (cloud-only)
ITSM (ServiceNow)
Yes
Yes (Service Graph)
Yes (API)
ServiceDesk Plus; ServiceNow not stated
Yes (ITX / SecOps)
Yes (Service Graph + Vuln Response)
Yes (closed-loop)
Government / FedRAMP posture
TX-RAMP; NIST 800-171; CMMC
TX-RAMP
FedRAMP Moderate (Authorized)
Not stated
FedRAMP Authorized (Moderate)
Not stated
FedRAMP Moderate + High
Published price figure
Free to 200; else quote
$1/endpoint/mo (Patch OS)
Indicative $1.50-$3.75/device
Full published price list
Quote only
Quote only
Quote only
Scroll sideways for more columns →
RFP question bank
Neutral questions to take to any patch-management vendor. They presume no answer and point at no tool — use them to confirm, in the vendor's own words, what each tool does.